Smoke and Daemons

Smoke and Daemons

When retribution is the only thing that drives you, how much are you willing to sacrifice before you lose yourself to the cause? 

Series: Caught Between Worlds


A daemon is offering me the name of my parent’s killer, for a price.

I’ve spent my life hunting the daemon who killed my parents. I swore long ago to do anything necessary, including summoning the deadly creatures to hunt for clues, even knowing I walked a razor’s edge every time. Any one of them might turn on me and kill me too. 

When Azimuth, a sweet-talking daemon with ice-blue eyes and a voice like butter, shows up dangling the knowledge I seek in return for a high-risk job, I feel compelled to accept his offer. Sure, I’m wary of the helpful daemon, but the prize is too tempting to pass up. So what if my pulse races when he touches me or I can’t stop thinking about how his lips will feel on my skin? 

I’m embarrassed that I can’t seem to keep myself from dwelling on forbidden fantasies starring Azimuth. Remembering that all daemons are my enemy and that nothing’s going to get in my way helps me. Nothing, including my forbidden attraction to an enemy. An enemy I can’t trust. Won’t trust.

But when the not-so-simple job goes sideways, I’m trapped. Bound to the very creature I despise. 

Now I need to decide how much of my body, or my heart, I’m willing to risk for vengeance?

***

This title was previously published as The Daemon Whisperer.

The Caught Between Worlds series is set in a future dystopian Front-Range Colorado filled with daemons, god-touched, and other not quite human creatures. Liminal beings stand at the crossroads between our world and alternate dimensions and have the ability to set things back to rights, if they so choose.


Get the e-book:



Praise

I am so happy that I had the opportunity to be able to sink my teeth into this new series and author. It was more than I expected and all the elements makes the storyline come together beautifully to create a captivating world.
-- Crystal
Redheads Review It Better (redheadsreviewitbetter.blogspot.com)
I fell in love with this exotic, dystopian world and the humans and daemons that lived in it. The pace of the story is fast and there is never a shortage of action.
-- Rosette
literatiliteraturelovers.com
In this story of love and survival, Meri and Azimuth are characters that are very easy to follow on their journey and see where it takes them. You will find yourself rooting for them along the way and I kept wondering who was next in the series. ... This was a great first story into the world of Liminals and I can't wait to become even more involved with the next book in the series.
The best part of the story is its fast pace and slightly twisted storyline. ...doesn't shy away from action and in the latter half of the book we do get some terrific action-oriented proceedings that help in setting up a terrific climax. ...a good start to an interesting series and should be a book that should be enjoyable for readers of Nalini Singh and Jeanine Frost.
-- Fantasy Book Critic
fantasybookcritic.blogspot.com
Daemon Whisperer is a unique mix of dark fantasy and paranormal romance. The story linewas fast paced with a good deal of juicy action. Parts of it were gritty and terrifying while other parts were sweet and romantic.
-- Kiersten Fay
Author of the Shadow Quest Series

Click to Read an Excerpt